The Button of Destiny

Well, I am getting ready to submit my Fulbright application. I have made the needed revisions and all I need to do now is upload the essays to my online application and click “submit”. No more interviews or additional essay writing, yet my heart is in my throat. One little “submit” button is all it takes to possibly hurl my dream of teaching in Latin America into reality. That possibility is pretty scary. Dreams are safe. You don’t actually have to do the crazy things you want to do. You just fantasize about them. But as soon as I click that button everything is set in motion towards making it real. I’m not even sure which thought is more terrifying: being rejected or being accepted. I will try not to obsess over the what-ifs until March when I should receive the answer from Fulbright. I am sure I will have plenty to keep me busy until then.

Today I will dance around that “submit” button and proof-read my application a few more times.

Leave a comment